About Africa

Africa is the world’s second largest and second most-populous continent. At about 30.3 million km2 (11.7 million square miles) including adjacent islands, it covers 6% of Earth’s total surface area and 20.4% of its total land area. With 1.2 billion people as of 2016, it accounts for about 16% of the world’s human population. The continent is surrounded by the Mediterranean Sea to the north, both the Suez Canal and the Red Sea along the Sinai Peninsula to the northeast, the Indian Ocean to the southeast and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. The continent includes Madagascar and various archipelagos. It contains 54 fully recognised sovereign states (countries), nine territories and two de facto independent states with limited or no recognition. The majority of the continent and its countries are in the Northern Hemisphere, with a substantial portion and number of countries in the Southern Hemisphere.

Africa is source of most of the world’s natural resources.

[vc_table vc_table_theme=”simple_orange”][align-center]Area,[align-center]Population,Launguages,Nations,[align-center]Countries|[align-center]30%2C370%2C000%20km2,[align-center]1%2C225%2C080%2C510,,,[align-center]54[/vc_table]

In what  has become known as a “scramble for Africa”, tEuropean interests, carved up the continent according to their economic interests at the Berlin Conference of 1884–85, also known as the Congo Conference (GermanKongokonferenz) or West Africa Conference (Westafrika-Konferenz)[1] .   European colonization and trade in Africa during the New Imperialism period was regulated amongst Europeans.   This coincided with Germany’s sudden emergence as an imperial power. The conference was organized by Otto von Bismarck, first Chancellor of Germany; its outcome, the General Act of the Berlin Conference, can be seen as the formalization of the Scramble for Africa. The conference ushered in a period of heightened colonial activity by European powers, which eliminated or overrode most existing forms of African autonomy and self-governance.

The newest country formed in 2011 is South Sudan.

Egypt, Libya, Ethiopia are names referenced in ancient Biblical  scriptures.

Official State Name (English) Capital National State Name
Algeria, People’s Democratic Republic Of Algiers Al Jaza’ir
Angola, Republic of Luanda Angola
Benin, Republic of Porto-Novo (official)
Cotonou (seat of government)
Botswana, Republic of Gaborone Botswana
Burkina Faso Oaugadougou Burkina Faso
Burundi, Republic of Bujumbura Burundi
Cabo Verde, Republic of (Cabo Verde) Praia Cabo Verde
Cameroon, Republic of Yaoundé Cameroon / Cameroun
Central African Republic (CAR) Bangui Republique Centrafricaine
Chad, Republic of N’Djamena Tchad / Tshad
Comoros, Union of the Moroni Komori (Comorian)
Comores (French)
Juzur al Qamar (Arabic)
Congo, Democratic Republic of the (DRC) Kinshasa Republique Democratique du Congo (RDC)
Congo, Republic of the Brazzaville Congo
Côte d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast) Yamoussoukro (official)
Abidjan (administrative seat)
Cote d’Ivoire
Djibouti, Republic of Djibouti Djibouti / Jibuti
Egypt, Arab Republic of Cairo Misr
Equatorial Guinea, Republic of Malabo Guinea Ecuatorial/Guinee Equatoriale
Eritrea, State of Asmara Ertra
Ethiopia, Federal Democratic Republic of Addis Ababa Ityop’iya
Gabonese Republic, (Gabon) Libreville Gabon
Gambia, Republic of The Banjul The Gambia
Ghana, Republic of Accra Ghana
Guinea, Republic of Conakry Guinee
Guinea-Bissau, Republic of Bissau Guine-Bissau
Kenya, Republic of Nairobi Kenya
Lesotho, Kingdom of Maseru Lesotho
Liberia, Republic of Monrovia Liberia
Libya Tripoli Libiya
Madagascar, Republic of Antananarivo Madagascar / Madagasikara
Malawi, Republic of Lilongwe Malawi
Mali, Republic of Bamako Mali
Mauritania, Islamic Republic of Nouakchott Muritaniyah
Mauritius, Republic of Port Louis Mauritius
Morocco, Kingdom of Rabat Al Maghrib
Mozambique, Republic of Maputo Mocambique
Namibia, Republic of Windhoek Namibia
Niger, Republic of Niamey Niger
Nigeria, Federal Republic of Abuja Nigeria
 **Reunion (an Overseas Department of France) Paris, France
[dept. capital=Saint-Denis]
Rwanda, Republic of Kigali Rwanda
 **Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha
(a British Overseas Territory)
London, U.K.
(administrative centre= Jamestown,
Saint Helena)
Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha
São Tomé and Principe, Democratic Republic of São Tomé São Tomé e Principe
Senegal, Republic of Dakar Senegal
Seychelles, Republic of Victoria Seychelles
Sierra Leone, Republic of Freetown Sierra Leone
Somalia, Federal Republic of Mogadishu Soomaaliya
South Africa, Republic of Pretoria South Africa
South Sudan, Republic of Juba South Sudan
Sudan, Republic of the Khartoum As-Sudan
Swaziland, Kingdom of Mbabane (official)
Lobamba (royal and legislative capital)
Umbuso weSwatini
Tanzania, United Republic of Dodoma (official)
Dar es Salaam (former capital and seat of executive)
Togolese Republic (Togo) Lomé Republique Togolaise
Tunisia, Republic of Tunis Tunis
Uganda, Republic of Kampala Uganda
 **Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (Western Sahara)
[state recognized by the African Union but claimed by Morocco]
El-Aaiún (Laayoune) (official)
Tifariti (provisional)
Sahrawi / Saharawi
Zambia, Republic of Lusaka Zambia
Zimbabwe, Republic of Harare Zimbabwe

diamonds, salt, gold, iron, cobalt, uranium,copper, bauxite, silver, petroleum and cocoa beans, but also woods and tropical fruits., beef, fish, coltan, uranium, water, sunshine, fertile land.

Africa Natural Resources mapped

“How big is Africa? You can see from this map created by Kai Krause, that Africa is large. If you combine the USA, China, India, Europe and Japan – they all fit into the continent of Africa. The US can fit comfortably no less than three times. The UK can fit into Africa over 120 times. Even those of us who were educated in Africa may be surprised at these statistics. That’s because the geography books at school tend to originate from Europe or the US, and show a proportionally skewed perspective of the world.”


Interesting facts that you might not know about Africa:

* All of Africa was colonized by foreign powers during the “scramble for Africa”, except Ethiopia & Liberia.

*There are 54 countries & 1 “non-self governing territory”, the Western Sahara, in Africa.

*Africa is the 2nd most populous continent with about 1.1 billion people or 16% of the world’s population.

*Arabic is spoken by 170 million people on the continent, followed in popularity by English (130 million), Swahili (100), French (115), Berber (50), Hausa (50), Portuguese (20) & Spanish (10).

*Over 25% of all languages are spoken only in Africa with over 2,000 recognised languages spoken on the continent.

*There are over 1 million Chinese citizens on the African continent. Angola alone has a population of over 350,000 Chinese.

*The Serengeti (Tanzania) hosts the world’s largest wildlife migration on Earth with over 750,000 zebra marching ahead of 1.2 million wildebeest as they cross the amazing landscape.

*The Nile River is the longest river in the world with a total length of 6,650 kilometres.

*Lake Malawi has more fish species than any other freshwater system on earth

*Africa has over 85% of the world’s elephants & over 99% of the remaining lions are on the African continent.

*The Sahara is the largest desert in the world & is bigger than the continental USA.